FAQ's

NUTRITIONAL/INGREDIENT
QUESTIONS

Product Ingredients & Nutritional Information
Good news! All of our ingredients are already available to you on the ‘Products’ and the 'Shop' pages of this website.

Vegan
We do an internal review of our packaging and ingredients to ensure that they are free of animal products. We have also confirmed that no animal inputs are used in our primary ingredient, cashews. Instead of fertilizers, farmers apply compost made from weeds, herbs, and wood chips resulting from tree pruning with no animal derivatives.

Kosher
Though we are a vegan company, and no animal products enter our facility, we are not certified Kosher at the time. We hope to attain Kosher certification in 2019.

Raw
The Loire Valley, Ash, Herbes de Provence, all of the Double Cream cheeses, all three flavors of Cream Cheese and all three flavors of Roadhouse Cheese Spread are “raw,” meaning they do not undergo any heat process in our facility. However, it is important to understand that all cashews are steamed at the source in order to remove it from its toxic shell.

Gluten Free
All cheeses and butter are gluten free. We are currently in a gluten-free facility in which we do not make anything with gluten.

Soy
We no longer use soy in any of our products!

Cheese Cultures
We use proprietary cultures that do not contain any animal products. Yes, they are vegan!

Natural Flavors
The natural flavors used in our products are natural preservatives made from fermenting rosemary, plum, and oregano. They do not contribute any flavor. The supplier has certified that the natural flavors used in our products are vegan and contain no artificial flavors, pesticides, or GMOs. The composition of the natural flavors is proprietary information for the company that we purchase from, and they don't disclose specific ingredients; however, if there is an allergen we can find out if that specific ingredient is present.

Vegetable Juice
The vegetable juice ingredient in our products is present for color and does not contain any of the eight known allergens.  

 

Coconuts and Coconut Oil
The coconut oil we use in our products is fair trade and sustainably sourced. Miyoko's is diligent about choosing the most ethical and environmentally friendly option every step of the way.

Sunflower Oil
The organic high-oleic sunflower oil we use is expeller pressed without the use of solvents and physically refined.

We use a highly refined coconut oil for our products, however we also process coconut cream in our facility which has its allergenic proteins intact. 

Oil Free
Our aged cheeses do not contain oil: Smoked Farmhouse, Sharp Farmhouse, Alpine, Black Ash and Herbes de Provence.

 

Nutritional Yeast
Nutritional yeast is an inactive yeast grown primarily for nutritional purposes. It is high in protein and B vitamins, including B12. It is common in vegan cuisine and products, as it contributes to an overall cheesy flavor and adds umami. Nutritional yeast products do not have any added monosodium glutamate; however, all inactive yeast contains a certain amount of free glutamic acid because when the yeast cells are killed, the protein that comprises the cell walls begins to degrade, breaking down into the amino acids that originally formed it. Glutamic acid is a naturally occurring amino acid in all yeast cells, as well as in many vegetables, fungi and meats. The provider of our Nutritional Yeast cultures their yeast on non-GMO molasses. Folic acid has been added to this product. 

MSG
We do not add MSG to any of our products. However, we do use Nutritional Yeast which is an inactive yeast grown primarily for nutritional purposes. It is high in protein and B vitamins, including B12. It is common in vegan cuisine and products, as it contributes to an overall cheesy flavor and adds umami. Nutritional yeast products do not have any added monosodium glutamate; however, all inactive yeast contains a certain amount of free glutamic acid because when the yeast cells are killed, the protein that comprises the cell walls begins to degrade, breaking down into the amino acids that originally formed it. Glutamic acid is a naturally occurring amino acid in all yeast cells, as well as in many vegetables, fungi and meats.

Cashews
Our organic cashews are sustainably sourced from Viet Nam. The company from whom we purchase them has undergone a Social Responsibility Audit to ensure that they treat all employees fairly, pay a living wage, allow appropriate time off and shifts of a reasonable length, do not employ child labor, and have safe and appropriate facilities for employees to work in. In addition, the company only processes and packages cashews grown on farms in their sustainable network. Finally, the cashews are certified organic by Oregon Tilth (OTCO), a respected certification organization in business for over 40 years, as compliant with the standards set forth by the National Organic Program (NOP).

Peanuts
Peanuts are not processed on the same machinery used for the cashews.

Miso
Miso is a fermented paste made from grains and legumes. Traditionally, miso is made from soybeans, although we use one that is soy-free (rice based). It is fermented with
koji, which is aspergillus oryzae grown in rice.

Alcohol
To create quality products, we have chosen to use a flavorful miso paste that is made in a traditional Japanese style rather than creating our products with a less flavorful dried miso powder. Since the miso paste is made in Japan, the manufacturer adds a very small amount of alcohol as a natural preservative to prevent the growth of yeasts or molds in the miso and to ensure quality throughout the shelf life of the product.

Loire Valley Fig Leaf
Wondering if you can eat that leaf? Yes, you can! Eat the whole thing! The fig leaf is edible and delicious.
 

PRODUCT RELATED
QUESTIONS

Product Quality Issues
If anything about a product was less than amazing, we want to hear about it. Please call us on 415.521.5313 (9am – 5pm PST) or email: info@miyokoskitchen.com. If you purchased from us online, our customer service team will contact you within 72 hours. If you purchased from a retail store, please return your product to that retailer for a full refund.
 

 How Long Will Miyoko's Cheese Last In The Refrigerator?
Miyoko's products should be consumed before the "best by" date stamped on the box and within 2 weeks after opening the product. Cheese will continue to age over time, but we recommend freezing our products to prolong their shelf life 3-6 months beyond the "best by" date. All of our products can be frozen; however Fresh Vegan Mozz will change texture after thawing making it easier to crumble for baking and cooking.
  
Can I Freeze Miyoko's Cheeses?
All of our products can be frozen; however Fresh Vegan Mozz and Smoked Mozz will change texture after thawing making it easier to crumble for baking and cooking. 
 
 Where can you find Miyoko's Products?
Our products are available at most Whole Food Markets, Targets, Sprouts, Trader Joe's and natural food stores throughout the country. On the West Coast, our products are available at many Fred Meyer, Natural Grocers, Raley's, and Oliver's Market stores. On the East Coast, our products are available at many Wegmans, Smith’s, Kroger, and Shop Rite stores. We recommend using the store locator on our website to locate a store near you that carries our products. We have also partnered with Mylk Guys to provide our products in their online store.

 

WANT TO SELL OUR PRODUCTS?

Wholesale Inquires
Please send requests to info@miyokoskitchen.com.

Distributor Questions
Our U.S.A. distributors are UNFI, KeHE, DPI and Tony’s. You may order or request our products through any of these distributors. 

Our Canada distributors are UNFI and Horizon.  

ORDERING/SHIPPING

We've teamed up with Mylk Guys to be our exclusive online partner!

They carry our entire line of products. Fill your cart with plant-based goodies and get flat-rate shipping for all orders above $39 or FREE shipping for Mylk Guys Unlimited members. 

OTHER INFORMATION

FACTORY TOURS
Sorry, we are presently not offering tours of our facility.

EMPLOYMENT OPPORTUNITIES
If you are interested in employment, please see our listings at http://miyokoskitchen.com/careers/ or send your resume to careers@miyokoskitchen.com.

 

STILL HAVE QUESTIONS?
Let's chat. Please call us on 415.521.5313 (9am – 5pm PST) or email: info@miyokoskitchen.com